Finding the Good in the (Really) Bad Days

Today by 10am I was ready to drink the closest liquor store out of it’s entire wine section…. I don’t drink alcohol, and Ellie only woke up at 9:16. This week has been challenging, to say the least. When Ellie gets teeth it comes in waves, and it’s bad. Not the “I can’t keep anything in my diaper” or snotty nose kind of bad. No, this is more “I’m going to scream from sun up to sun down”, kind of bad. She screams about anything and everything. Happy, sad, tired, hungry… You name it, she screams it. On good days I can keep calm and talk to her, help her deal with what she needs or wants, and keep both of us happy. Today was… well, special. After days and days of endless screaming I yelled. I really try not to yell, I hate yelling. It’s not something I want my children to grow up with. But I made a mistake and it happened. Bad days happen and even good moms yell.

  

 Then while I was doing dishes today she came and hugged my leg… and I melted. It’s moments like that that make all the really hard moments worth it. Or moments when she comes up to me with her lips puckered for a kiss, or gives me a big hug. It’s hard to see the good moments when all you can feel is the bad ones, but when you really take the time, you can see that there is a little bit of good in each day, even if it’s the time of day when the kids are finally in bed.

 

Today I will cut myself some slack, and remind myself that even on the really bad days there is something good. If I can’t find anything I’ll take a bath as soon as I get a moment to myself and make that the good. So whatever you’re going through, parenting moment or not, if you’re struggling to find the good just take a step back. Take a deep breath, go for a walk, take a bath, whatever you need. Tomorrow is a new day and a fresh start. Make the most out of it that you can, you don’t know how many more you’ll have!

 

Leave a Reply

