Pinwheel Sugar Cookies

Today I decided to tackle pinwheel sugar cookies. I love to bake, but for some reason every time I’ve attempted these they don’t turn out. Now I know why, and I’ll share my tricks! 

Make the dough! I didn’t take pictures of the process, but I use my KitchenAid mixer. The recipe says to mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl… But who am I kidding. Who wants the extra dishes. First I let my margarine blocks soften by leaving them on the counter for a while. I cream the margarine, eggs, vanilla, and sugar in my mixer. Once it’s mixed well (and make sure your margarine is soft enough. If it’s still cold it will leave chunks in the dough) I stop the mixer, and on top of the mixer I add in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Then I mix until it forms a ball. 

  
Here my pictures start! Now you split the dough into 2 parts as equal as you can. I put half the mixture back into the mixer and add my food colouring (you can use any colour). I used 6 drops of blue and mixed well until all the dough was a blue/green colour. 

   
Now this is the first area I always messed up. I used to just flour the counter and roll out the dough. It still stuck to the counter, no matter how much flour I used! And you don’t want to use too much, as it will dry the dough out and make it crack. I then learned, rolling dough between two sheets of parchment paper is magic! I cut a big sheet and flour it lightly. Add the dough, and add a bit more flour on top of the dough. Cut another big sheet of parchment paper and place it on top, and roll out the dough. 

  
Once both halves are rolled out use your pastry brush and a bowl of water and add small amounts of water to the surface of one of the pieces of rolled out dough. The added water will help the dough to stick together. 

  
Place one sheet on top of the other. Cut the edges off so they are all even. This dough can still be used, I just squished it and shaped it into a weird looking cookie. They still taste amazing! Add water to the top sheet of dough as you roll it up, but make sure not to add too much. 

  
Once it’s rolled up, wrap it in plastic wrap and refrigerate for an hour. It makes it so much easier to cut if it’s cold! 

  
I cut the cookies about the width of my finger. Then I line the cookie sheet with one of my used pieces of parchment paper and bake! Bake them at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for between 6-8 minutes, depending on your oven (I found 8 minutes perfect). 

  
Let cool, and enjoy! You can add sprinkles, brown sugar and cinnamon, even use the recipe as plain ol’ sugar cookies cut out into shapes. I personally love them cut out with buttercream icing! 

Here’s the recipe: 
3/4 C. margarine, softened 

2 eggs

1 C. white sugar 

1 tsp. vanilla

2 C. flour

1 tsp. baking powder 

1 tsp. salt
 1. cream together margarine, sugar, egg, and vanilla. 

 2. Add in flour, baking powder, and salt. 

 3. Mix well until ball forms. 

 4. Split dough into 2 equal parts. 

 5. Colour 1 of the parts with food colouring of your choice. 

 6. Roll out dough between parchment paper, lightly floured. 

 7. Lightly use a pastry brush to add water to 1 of the rolled out sheets of dough and place the other on top. 

 8. Cut off edges to make them even and roll, again, adding small amounts of water as you go. 

 9. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for an hour. 

 10. Cut into thin slices (the thicker they are the longer they’ll bake) and place on a lined cookie sheet. 

 11. Bake at 350F for 6-8 minutes. 

 12. Cool, and enjoy! 

You can freeze the rolled dough, or freeze them after they are done baking for a quick snack for company. Let me know how yours turn out in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

