The Facebook War

I need to talk about a very controversial topic here. I have an opinion that many may not like, but I really need to get it out. 
  
I have to admit, at first I didn’t understand why we needed to take the Syrian refugees into our country. I knew they were fleeing from the same evil we’re trying to keep out, but my main thought was “if the evil hides with them, where are we supposed to flee?”. It was selfish. It was like I (along with a lot of other Christians) have forgotten that we were told to feed the hungry and clothe the naked. 
Jesus said in Matthew 25, “36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ 37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40 The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ “

So here’s what I’m struggling with… Everyone seems to be using the excuse, “what about OUR homeless? What about OUR orphans? Why do refugees get help now when we have our own people to feed and clothe?” My question to those people is, why do you only care now? What were you doing before to help them? Did you invite them into your warm house and let them have coffee with you on a day there was a blizzard? Yes, that is where we need to start; more than enough of us have failed miserably in doing so. So start there and accept that we can’t change what is. As much as some of us don’t agree with the new leader or the decisions he’s making, the truth is that it is here and now. All we can do is trust in God that He has a plan in all of this. We can pray, we can love our neighbours, and we can even go a little further and show God’s love to those that have no home whether they be from our country or Syria. Whatever happens to our country and our world is in GOD’S hands. We need to stop trying to take it into our own and trust that above all He reigns, and is in complete control. Not only that, but He is with us every step of the way! Joshua 1:9 says, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” 
This Facebook war needs to stop. If we turn against each other (friends and family!) how are we to support and love one another if the evil truly does come? We all have very strong opinions and I’m sure they’re all there with good intentions. Many of us do wish we could change what is. However, we can’t, but we can change our attitudes about it. Trust God, lean on Him always. We do not need to understand His ways, except know that He has us in His hands. This war is not ours to fight. 
Please feel free to leave comments, I would love to connect with you on this subject. 

2 thoughts on “The Facebook War

  1. When it comes to our homeless & jobless it’s sad to me that the government isn’t rushing to get them homes or jobs. It has seemed as tho nope sorry there is nothing for you. But suddenly when it comes to Syrian refugees there’s somehow resources. That doesn’t make sense to me. My other concern is that 26,000 in just a few short weeks is way too fast. I don’t think we should outright refuse them I just believe it should be slower. And/or why can’t the government choose to help out both the homeless & refugees? Maybe all of this will shed some light on how we still also need to be helping out our own people as well as those from a foreign country. There are many people in my own small town who struggle a lot to find proper work and especially a place to live. We have been one of those families & have a possibility of losing our home soon & then there will be a battle trying to find somewhere else that is available as well as affordable. I also believe that the majority of help should be in their own country. Not because I’m racist or don’t want them here but majority of them don’t actually want to leave but are being forced out. Why aren’t we wiping out Isis so they don’t have to flee their home in fear? I know it’s not that simple but I’m sure more can be done than what is so far. There are just a few thoughts of mine

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will never, ever argue what you just said. I agree whole-heartedly with everything you said. If I could change what is I absolutely would, and if wiping out Isis was just that easy, I’m sure we all would. I agree that more could be done.
      The point of my post was that we shouldn’t be living in fear. It is so easy to fear “what could be”, but what good is that going to do us? It’s not going to get us anywhere and it’s not going I change our world. It’s up to us, each individual, to make a change whether it be how we treat the homeless or taking care of orphans and widows, or accepting refugees into our home, or even just sending a care package to somewhere refugees are staying. It’s hard to believe that people want a change anywhere (be it in their home country or elsewhere) if they don’t take any steps to make a change.

      Like

Leave a Reply

