This Is Me

I guess I should start off introducing myself! My name is Samantha (I go by Sam), and I am a 20-year-old Mama Bear, and wife to a Papa Bear named Colin. I have a 13 month old Baby Bear, her name is Gabriella. Currently I am also 11 weeks pregnant with our next little Bear Cub!

My girl, from her first birthday photoshoot.
My girl, from her first birthday photo shoot.

I decided to blog, because why not fill my time with more stuff! I’m hoping to give a few “mama tips”, and share my different experiences in parenthood. Given I’ve only been a parent for a year, I’ve learned more in this last year than I did in high school! I want to interact with different moms, and get to know their experiences as well. Please know that while I’m going to share my experiences and occasionally give my opinions on certain topics, I in no way think that my way is the only way. Every baby, every mama, and every family is so entirely different. What I did with my first child I may not do with my second, and I may try things next time that I didn’t last time. Parenthood is a learning experience and I’ve learned to take all opinions and advice with a grain of salt, and just figure out what’s best for me and my family. I also hope to share a few of my favourite recipes, our holiday traditions, as well as my life as a wife.

Now that all that’s covered, I’m going to talk about ME! Yep, that’s right. Even though I’m a mom, I’m still a person and I still have interests! The first thing you need to know is that I LOOOOVE Christmas. I am an absolute nut! I love the snow, love the decorations, love the baking (I mean, who doesn’t?), and just plain ol’ love the Christmas spirit. Typically as soon as Halloween is over my Christmas tree is up. That’s another thing… I hate Halloween. I’m really not sure why, and I don’t remember when I started to hate it. I don’t like to dress up and I don’t like to decorate for it! I’ll hand out candy to our neighbours, but here’s a confession; I hate it so much I didn’t want to be home this year, so I made Colin take me to a movie! Yep, I’m that person. The Halloween Grinch. Moving on… I love to draw, paint, and design. My favourite classes in school were art and Home Ec. I sew, and occasionally quilt. I love my chalkboards. I love dogs and basically want one as soon as we have a yard! I love being a mom! I hated school, all of it. I got engaged in grade 12 and got married 2 months after graduation. We were married for 5 months before we found out we were pregnant with our daughter. She was born 2 months after our 1 year anniversary. Since we got we got married 2 years ago, we have lived in 3 cities and 4 houses. We finally purchased our first home this past spring, and it feels amazing to have a place to call “home”!

IMG_6491

I’ll stop boring you all now. I’m excited to be doing this! I can’t wait to write more and get to know all my readers. Please, feel free to leave comments on any of my posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

